What Does MLB Mean

MLB, an acronym that stands for Major League Baseball, is a professional baseball organization and one of the major professional sports leagues in the United States and Canada. Formed in 1903, MLB comprises 30 teams, divided equally between the National League (NL) and the American League (AL), with 29 teams in the United States and one in Canada.

The Structure of MLB

The structure of MLB is unique, consisting of two leagues, the National and American. These two leagues form the only major professional baseball organization in the world. The organization oversees and regulates the major leagues, and affiliated minor leagues, of professional baseball in the United States and Canada.

Levels of MLB

Within the MLB, there are various levels of play. The Minor League levels include AAA or triple A, which is the highest MiLB level, AA or double A, Class A advanced or “High A”, Class A, or “Low A”, and Class A short season or “short season”. Players at these levels are often called up to the parent Major League team when their skills and performance meet the required standards.

Baseball, the sport that MLB represents, has been part of popular culture as early as the 1850s. It is celebrated in song, story, and art, and its images and references are often a part of our everyday lives. In many ways, baseball reflects America, making an imprint on American society through its historical influence and representation of culture.