Is MLB Playoffs Best Of 5 Or 7

Major League Baseball (MLB) is a sport that thrives on tradition, but it's not immune to change. One of the most significant changes in recent years has been the format of the playoffs. So, is the MLB playoffs best of 5 or 7? Let's delve into the details.

The New MLB Playoff Format

In 2022, the MLB introduced a new playoff format, expanding the pool of teams from 10 to 12. This new system includes six teams from each league, with the top two seeds in the American League (AL) and National League (NL) advancing straight to the Division Series. The bottom four teams play a best-of-three Wild Card series to determine the final two teams in the Division Series.

The Structure of the MLB Playoffs

The MLB playoffs consist of four rounds: the Wild Card Round, the Divisional Series, the Championship Round, and the World Series.

Wild Card Round

The Wild Card Round is a best-of-three series. The winners of this round advance to the Division Series, while the losers are eliminated from the postseason.

Divisional Series

The Divisional Series is a best-of-five series, following a 2-2-1 format. The team with the best record will have home field advantage.

Championship Round

The Championship Round, also known as the League Championship Series, is a best-of-seven series. The team that wins four games first advances to the World Series.

World Series

The World Series is the final round of the MLB playoffs. Like the Championship Round, it is a best-of-seven series, following a 2-3-2 format. The team with the best regular-season record gets home-field advantage.