How Many Types Of Out Are There In Cricket

Cricket, a globally popular sport, has unique rules and regulations. One of the most crucial aspects of the game is the dismissal or 'out' of a batsman.

There are 11 ways in which a batsman can be dismissed in cricket.

  1. Bowled: This is the simplest form of dismissal, where the bowler's delivery hits the stumps behind the batsman.
  2. Caught: A batsman is declared out when a fielder or wicketkeeper catches the ball without hitting the ground after making contact with the bat.
  3. Leg Before Wicket (LBW): If a legitimate delivery strikes any part of the batsman without first touching the bat or glove, the umpire believes the ball would have hit the stumps, but for this interception, the batsman is out LBW.
  4. Run Out: This occurs when the batsman fails to reach the popping crease before a fielder puts down his stumps while the ball is in play.
  5. Stumped: If the striker steps in front of the crease to play the ball, leaving no part of his body behind the crease, and the wicket-keeper dislodges the bails while the batsman is out of the crease, the batsman is stumped.
  6. Hit Wicket: This rare form of dismissal happens when the batsman dislodges his stumps with his body or bat while hitting a shot.
  7. Obstructing the Field: If the batsman obstructs or distracts the fielding side, he is given an out.
  8. Timed Out: An incoming batsman is given out if he takes more than three minutes to be ready to face the next ball.
  9. Hit the Ball Twice: If the batsman hits the ball more than once intentionally, the dismissal is called 'hit the ball twice.'
  10. Retired Out: This occurs when the batsman leaves the field without the umpire's consent for reasons other than injury or illness.
  11. Handled the Ball: This rare form of dismissal involves the batsman handling the ball while it is in play.

These dismissal forms add complexity and excitement to the game, making cricket a fascinating sport to watch and play.